The journey thus far

Here I am, at 7 months! These are some of my latest pictures.

Sometimes I feel amazed when I think about how far I’ve come. At the shelter, I was adopted by Sharon and Jamin when I was merely 10 weeks old. Given how animals at the shelter have to be quarantined for a week, I was only 9 weeks when I was picked up, probably off the streets? No one really knows where I came from, who my mother was, and what experiences I’ve had prior to my shelter life.

dsc00521

When I first arrived at my new home, I wasn’t really scared because I was so attention starved. I needed to be near people all the time. I was also running a fever and had persistent diarrhoea. At the vet’s, they couldn’t give me the standard pill for the parasite I had that was causing the diarrhoea, because I was too small and underweight such that the pill couldn’t be cut small enough.

dsc00537

Despite everything, I was a heart melter. I craved affection, so I quickly became established as the baby of the household. In particular, Diana took me under her wing and mothered me. I was devastated when she left me, and became very fearful and withdrawn for a couple of weeks. The slightest sounds startled me, and I grew distant and distrustful of humans.

dsc00515

Thankfully, with lots of patience and care, I slowly reverted to my old self. I think I’m a really good cat! I didn’t have to be taught to use the scratching post, never put my claws out at anyone or anything, never hissed, never bit or chewed even when I was teething. I only get sulky when I don’t get enough sleep, and even then I just get moony but never destructive. Oh and I’m getting better with baths although I still don’t fancy them much, but I guess I don’t really have an option there since Sharon is allergic to me.

dsc00542

I did have an overweight phase, but I’m passed that now! I used to have a really round tummy. In fact, Sharon now thinks I’m not eating enough sometimes!

dsc00534

While most cats mellow and become more dignified as they approach adulthood, I am still the same kitten I was when I was 10 weeks. Still loves attention, talkative, not an alpha cat, and loves to play. I like greeting people at the door when I hear the keys. I also like to kiss! In fact, everyone thinks I look better as I grow older!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

